8 steps to happiness

On the old stone plates in different cultures and languages, we can find old scripts describing the path for ever-lasting happiness and inner peace. These records are more than 5,000 years old and are also very useful in a modern, technologically advanced society.

To find the happiness you will have to travel within
The path to happiness is possible if you follow and live your everyday life according to 8 foundations. You must be ready to change, especially on your journey within. This does not mean that you will give up your lifestyle or habits. What will change will be the way you create your reality, your reactions and the way you understand certain situations. When taking into account these foundations, you will learn to see life and the world as they really are, without apparent or illusionary reality.

8 Steps to Happiness According to 5000 Year Old Vedic Scripts:

1. Yama & Nijama
The first step involves taking responsibility for ourselves, our thoughts and behaviours towards others. It encourages tolerance, purity of mind and body, as well as to act in accordance with moral and ethical norms. It often seems that we already act in accordance with all these norms, however, we tend to forget that negative thoughts, even if we do not act upon them, do have a very similar and sometimes even stronger effect than our negative actions. Being aware of our thoughts, feelings, needs, as well as the acceptance of others form the basis of the first foundation.

2. Asana
The second step focuses on promoting conscious, stable and concentrated posture of our body, which simultaneously affects our mind and improves our focus. With regular practice we learn about conscious movement, we understand and listen to our body, it becomes easier to relax deeply and diverts our attention from the mind to the heart.

3. Pranayama
The third step focuses attention on the movement of breath, the link between breath and body, and helps us to learn how to calm our mind, whilst we keep our focus on breathing. Breathing is the most important function of our body that allows us to live. Despite the fact that with each breath we could inhale up to 4 litres of air, we only inhale ½ a litre. Using traditional techniques helps us to learn how to enable a greater amount of oxygen to enter our body and to strengthen us.

4. Pratyahara
The fourth step encourages us to disconnect from all external factors and to completely turn inward. When we get to this point, we learn about deep and conscious relaxation. Only 15 minutes in a deep relaxed state of consciousness is equivalent to 4 hours of deep sleep. At this point, we practice concentration at a deeper level.

5. Dharana
The fifth step encourages us to learn to keep our concentration on a specific point. By keeping attention on a specific item for a long time, we train our mind to the fact that it settles and stays quiet for a long time. We learn how to become a master of our mind, instead of the mind controlling us.

6. Dhayana
In the sixth step, meditation happens. It happens on its own, once our concentration becomes strong enough. In this moment our mind and body become completely quiet and our breath starts to control our mind.

7. Samadhi
A state of complete inner peace. Our thoughts are totally peaceful, without escaping, no event or external factors can affect the calmness of our thoughts. We are completely focused and calm.

8. Nirvana
State of complete consciousness in the present moment, which never ends. At the time of Nirvana we are aware that everything is subject to a change, everything comes and goes. We live in a moment and react calmly, clearly and compassionately. We are happy.

Practical Technique for Your First Step to Happiness

Have a think. Which of the above steps have you already been using in your life and in what form. Make a short analysis: would you like to deepen your practice or are you happy with what have you been doing?

In the next month try to upgrade your old practice and make a fresh new step to happiness.

Never Miss the Latest Stories and Information!